Fashion Institute of Technology Awards Gala Honors Galas – NYT Now

The Fashion Institute of Technology, known for producing successful alumni like Michael Kors and Calvin Klein, held its annual gala on Monday night, honoring the designers behind several top brands. This year’s gala raised a record-breaking $5.3 million for student scholarships and academic programs.

The attendees included celebrities like Sarah Jessica Parker, Karlie Kloss, and Naomi Campbell, as well as fashion designers Brandon Maxwell, Tory Burch, and Marc Jacobs. The evening’s honorees were:

* **Rei Kawakubo** of Comme des Garçons, who received the Couture Council Award for Artistry of Fashion
* **Miuccia Prada** of Prada, who received the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
* **Raf Simons** of Calvin Klein, who received the Menswear Designer of the Year Award
* **Virgil Abloh** of Off-White and Louis Vuitton, who received the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award

FIT President Joyce F. Brown said the gala is an important event for the school, as it helps to raise funds for scholarships and academic programs that support the next generation of fashion designers. .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *